50 Empowering Phrases To Help You Get Through Difficult Times

Dr. Liza Varvogli
4 min readMay 20, 2020

--

Tough times are unavoidable. Suffering is avoidable. You may be going through a rough patch in your life, but you don’t have to mean to yourself. Learn to speak encouraging and supportive words to yourself to get you through the tough situation. Cultivating a kind, reassuring, stimulating, internal dialogue, you allow yourself to connect to your inner strength; you allow yourself to see through the difficulty, and you provide the tools to get to the other side. Here’s a cheat-sheet with 50 empowering phrases to push past your troubles.

1. I allow myself to be afraid; it’s a feeling, not a sign of weakness.

2. I allow myself to worry about things that matter.

3. I allow myself to think optimistically.

4. I allow myself to feel enthusiasm and motivation.

5. I allow myself to have a healthy dose of doubt.

6. My fears don’t define me.

7. I can be angry, but I don’t need to lash out.

8. I allow myself to hope for the best.

9. I choose to focus on solutions instead of just problems.

10. I can’t calm the storm, but I can calm myself.

11. Breathe in, breathe out.

12. I know how I feel, but I can’t control how the other person is feeling.

13. I take the time I need.

14. I allow myself to take a break and regroup.

15. I allow myself to stop and think about how I want to respond.

16. Every tough situation makes me stronger, wiser, and more resilient; and I am grateful for that.

17. We are to feel our feelings and not suppress them.

18. I don’t waste explanations on people who deserve my silence.

19. I respect myself.

20. I believe in myself.

21. I am a smart and competent person.

22. I don’t need to invest time and energy in people who don’t appreciate me.

23. I allow myself not to have all the answers; I learn as I go.

24. I may fail and that’s OK.

25. I may succeed and it’s OK to celebrate my success.

26. I can’t always control what’s happening, but I can control the way I respond to what’s happening.

27. If I try and I don’t succeed, that doesn’t make me a failure.

28. I am the energy I want to attract.

29. I allow myself to focus on my character strengths.

30. I have the ability to change.

31. Today is a new day.

32. Today I am not the person I was yesterday.

33. I don’t like being pigeonholed.

34. I am enough.

35. I am my own unique and authentic self.

36. I am more than one thing, one description, one definition.

37. I allow myself to say “no” to things that don’t nurture my spirit and soul.

38. I allow myself to say “yes” to things that don’t nurture my spirit and soul.

39. I allow myself to set healthy boundaries.

40. I will show myself the same kindness I show to others.

41. I choose to stop worrying about being perfect; there’s no such thing as perfection.

42. Being self-aware is a super-power.

43. I allow myself to accept the help and support of the people who love and care about me.

44. I choose not to downgrade myself.

45. I believe in my self-worth.

46. I love and accept myself the way I am.

47. I want to try one more time.

48. I take one step forward every day.

49. Today I saw the seeds for the kind of life I want to live.

50. I choose to make small positive changes every day.

--

--

Dr. Liza Varvogli

Ph.D. in Psychology| Harvard-trained| Psychotherapist| Stress Management Professor|Parenting & Relationships Expert|Meditator|Positive thinker|Solution-oriented